From the Editor [65]

By Sue Webber

Thanks to everyone who contributed to this issue of the magazine. It’s great to receive your articles and photos so please keep sending them.

Photos are a really important part of the magazine so I’d like to give you a few tips for getting the best images to print. If you use film you can send me prints, transparencies or negatives and I can scan them. If you use a digital camera then please read on. There’s a big difference between the images you see on your computer screen and those printed in the magazine. Most of the images you see on your computer are at 72 dots per inch (dpi) and that’s perfectly adequate for viewing photos on screen. However, these are low resolution images and they won’t print well in the magazine. For magazine printing I use 300dpi and I print at 100 per cent. That means that if the resolution of a photo is at 300dpi the image will print at the same size as the file. A 6cm x 4cm image will print at that size.

All this boils down to the fact that I need large files for images for the magazine. For example, a photo for the whole cover of the magazine would be about 28MB to give me the size I need at 300dpi.

What this means is that you need to set your digital camera at its highest resolution when you take photos for the magazine. Download your files and convert them to jpgs (if they aren’t in that format already). If you have a way of checking the resolution see if they are at 300dpi and what size the image is. If you don’t have a way of doing that, don’t worry because I can adjust the files.

Then you can either email the jpgs to me, or if there are a lot of them you can put them on a CD and send them by snail mail. If you can name the images to match your article even better and best of all give them captions.

Please contact me if you have any questions. I look forward to seeing your photos in the next magazine.

