Shark Island Report [32]

By Kenji Ogawa

On Sunday 18 May I woke up early and went out for a walk to suss out the weather. I was a bit nervous as it was the first time I had organised something for kayakers and I wanted everything to be perfect. It was raining and wondered if anybody was going to turn up after all. It slowly dawned on me that a few drops of water from heaven would only increase a true kayaker’s sense of adventure! And so we packed and drove to Double Bay and paddled across to Shark Island in our friendly neighbour’s Canadian canoe.

When my wife, two daughters and I arrived on the island there was already half a dozen people there, the rain had eased and the sun was threatening to shine. I knew it was going to be a fabulous day.

Kayaks came from all sides until a total of sixty five boats were on the island. The small beach was absolutely full with no space anywhere to land. Norm Sanders came from Tuross Heads with his Inuit Classic, Larry Gray in his Pittarak and ex Olympian Helen Jacobson paddled a surf ski from Manly.

Larry gave a short talk on his trip to Greenland and demonstrated some of the new eskimo rolls he had learned in Greenland. They looked so simple and the ease with which Larry performed them was quite remarkable. My Japanese instinct tells me that when something looks so simple it rarely is.

As this event was so successful and was supported by so many paddlers from so many clubs we decided to make it an annual event in Sydney Harbour exclusive for kayakers and their families. See you same time next year.

